Christmas Cake Cookies | realbeerwife

best. Christmas. cookie.

Oh Snow Day! You special snowflake full of best laid plans and waaay too many ideas.  Right away I start listing all the life changing to-dos that I will accomplish with this bonus day at home.  Clean out and reorganize the pantry, dust off the old sewing machine and get all those repairs and hems done, try some new recipes, bag up a bunch of stuff to take to the thrift store, edit photos and create albums to place them… I will be a whole new organized adult individual!  Later, when I emerge from the black hole that is Pinterest and roughly 10 hours of Behind Mansion Walls or some other such nonsense on Netflix… I wipe the cheese doodles off my fingers, curse myself and weep over my shattered plans.

But this past snow day, I got off my butt and did something!

It still wasn’t productive or part of the plans, but it was much better than a marathon of Sister Wives.  I got with my sister wife to revisit snow days of our pre-kid past, when we would bake Christmas cookies together to share. Just to clarify: she is my sister wife in that we help each other with kid and dog duties, not husband sharing.  It wasn’t always cookies on snow days; we once spent a snow day by going out to lunch and didn’t leave. We grabbed a window booth and watched the snow fall down. When we found out that work was cancelled for the following day we ordered beers and stayed through dinner. We outlasted two different servers and I think we were there for over  8 hours. I do not know what the bill was, because when our spouses (not sure if we were even married yet) came to get us we just gave them the tab.

How times have changed now that we have 3 little people enjoying the snow day with us. One was old enough to help with sprinkles, the other two just hollered for more sugar and were shooed away from the oven.

We made a couple different cookies including these potato chip cookies | smitten kitchen.  Didn’t really modify the recipe and used the chocolate dip finish.  They were a delicious combo of sweet and salty.

Also attempted these Red Velvet Santa Hat Brownies – Life In The Lofthouse. It was a fail, but not because of this cute recipe.  Unfortunately the brownies were too dense and way to gooey to make pretty Santa hat shaped triangles.  It could have been my egg substitution of apple sauce.  My little guy has an egg allergy and I was trying some new baking techniques to avoid a reaction.   They were still yummy to pick at… just not cute.

We also made chocolate chip peanut butter cookies and my family favorite: Christmas Cake Cookies.  My mom says she got this recipe from my Aunt Peggy and we’ve been making them since I was a kid.  They are so easy to whip up and can be creatively dressed up with cute sprinkles.    Here is my Christmas gift to you:

Christmas Cake Cookies

Preheat the oven to 350.

Mix together 1 egg, 1 tsp vanilla, 1 softened stick of butter, 1 softened brick of cream cheese.  Add 1 box of yellow cake mix.

Spoon onto parchment paper or greased cookie sheet.  Add sprinkles before baking so they stick to the cookie better.

Bake for 10 minutes.

We’ve been experimenting in recent years with the cake mix too.  My sister wife had strawberry cake mix and we used that for a few batches.  The pink was cute for Christmas, tasty and would work for Valentine’s cookies too.  I have also tried lemon cake mix and chocolate too.  My mom called yesterday to share she had used carrot cake mix and it worked.  I wonder what the red velvet cake mix would be like too.  The possibilities are endless!

Healthy they are NOT, but the creamy cakiness in cookie form makes them a hit at holiday celebrations or to share with neighbors.  I made my yellow cake batch with 3 tablespoons of applesauce as an egg substitute, and it worked really well.

Happy Baking!

Christmas Cake Cookies | realbeerwife

2 thoughts on “best. Christmas. cookie.”

Leave a Reply

